It’s a Tough Job, But Someone’s Got to Do It

Ok, it’s not really a tough job.

Grandparenting. You never know quite where you’ll fall on the grandparenting spectrum. Will you be one of those grandmothers squirreling away her spare change for vacations and exotic escapes, drinking lattes with her friends and hitting the gym for a second hit of what life has to offer? Or will you be the grandmother with soft arms who smells of craft paint and who squirrels away her spare change for family trips to Disney?

It turns out I’m the latter. Not unexpectedly perhaps, but the degree to which my grandchildren have overtaken my thoughts and my life often surprises me. 

I only have two, Eileen and Mathilda (fake names, because I’m certain to share embarrassing details they may not want to be linked to), five and one years of age respectively.

 

Peanut Butter Jelliez. A few months ago, my sister and I decided to open an Etsy shop. We both are avid crafters – her particular passion is sewing, mine is crocheting, and to a lesser extent, knitting.

 

It was an American Girl doll – TrulyMe 69 – that was the catalyst for this project. Is it just me, or holy *#&!, are those dolls and their accessories expensive? Hang the expenses, Eileen’s heart was set on an American Girl doll.

 

My husband (John) and I bit the bullet and got her TrulyMe 69 (now named Annabelle) for Eileen for Christmas, but quickly realized the acquisition of the doll was just the first step in the process. Annabelle needed stuff – and lots of stuff – to wear.

 

That’s when I started tinkering with patterns, some just for the doll, some for the doll and the granddaughter. My sister quickly jumped aboard, adding her considerable sewing skills to the mix. We soon got our own dolls, Emily and Anne, who act as playthings when the grandkids are around, but do double duty as models when we’re crafting.

 

So. Welcome to Peanut Butter Jelliez. Come in, browse around. Over the months and years, we’ll be sharing our crafts, stories, tips, and maybe even a few grandchild-inspired recipes. 

2 thoughts on “It’s a Tough Job, But Someone’s Got to Do It

Leave a Reply

